Idaho's New Hire Directory

Call us:

(800) 627-3880
(208) 332-8941

Login
billboard

How do I report?

Use the tabs on the right to explore the best reporting method for your organization.


Frequently Asked Questions

What is Idaho’s
New Hire Reporting Law?

Idaho's new hire reporting law requires all Idaho employers to report their new employees to the Idaho Department of Labor within 20 days of the date of hire.

LEARN MORE

Why Do I Have to Report My New Hires?
When Idaho businesses report their new hires, we can stop people who collect unemployment insurance while they are gainfully employed. What they're doing is not only illegal; they're also costing Idaho businesses more in unemployment insurance taxes.

Who Do I Need to Report?
Employers need to report any new employee they hire within 20 days of their date of hire. Rehired employees – if their previous employment was terminated at least 60 days prior to the first day of employment – should also be reported.

What Kind of Information Do I Need to Provide?
Please provide the following:
  • Employee Name
  • Address
  • Social Security Number
  • Date of Hire (first day employee worked for wages)
  • Employer Name and Address
  • Federal Employer Identification Number
  • State Unemployment Insurance Account Number (Unless exempt employer)

Can I Send You a W-4?
Employers can send in a New Hire Reporting Form or a completed copy of the employee’s W-4, as long as it includes all the required information. After ensuring the W-4 is complete and legible, add the date of hire and your Idaho Unemployment Insurance account number to the bottom and submit it to Idaho Department of Labor. If you send in the New Hire Reporting Form you do not have to send in a W-4.

For more information, email us at: newhire@labor.idaho.gov

Since October 1, 1997, all Idaho employers are required to report new hires to Idaho Department of Labor. Reports must be submitted within 20 days of the date of hire. This reporting is part of the national effort to reform welfare. Idaho Department of Labor will consolidate employer reports into a statewide directory of new hires, which will be used to locate parents who fail to pay child support. One of the most common reasons for welfare dependency is non-payment of child support.

The new hire reporting law covers all Idaho employers either hiring new employees or rehiring employees whose previous employment was terminated more than twelve months prior to the current hire date. Employers must provide the company name, address, federal employer identification number, Idaho Unemployment Insurance account number, employee's full name, address, social security number, and date of hire.

Employers can provide this information by sending a completed New Hire Reporting Form or a copy of the employee W-4 to Idaho Department of Labor. Employers can obtain a copy of a New Hire Reporting Form by calling 1-800-627-3880 or downloading a copy from us in Microsoft Word format here. Employers who wish to use a W-4 can satisfy the new hire requirement by making a copy of the W-4, adding the date of hire and the Idaho Unemployment Insurance employer account number to the bottom of the copy, and submitting the copy to Idaho Department of Labor within 20 days of the date of hire. Adding the Idaho Unemployment Insurance employer account number to the bottom of the copy should be limited to those employees who are covered under Idaho's Unemployment Insurance law. Copies of completed W-4's or New Hire Reporting Forms can be mailed to the following address:


Idaho Department of Labor
New Hire Reporting
317 West Main St
Boise, Idaho 83735-0610

 

Employers preferring to fax the completed W-4 or New Hire Reporting Form to Idaho Department of Labor may do so by faxing to 208-332-7411. Employers wishing to report electronically can make arrangements to do so by calling 1-800-627-3880. Idaho Department of Labor will accept reporting in the "Diskette Reporting Format" (see selection below) as a file attached to electronic mail. The "Internet Reporting Using Electronic Mail" section below contains the correct electronic mail address for such reporting. Please include a phone number and contact person in your message.

Employers preferring to enter the new hire information on-line may do so with a web browser, Internet Explorer or Netscape, versions 3.0 and above. The entry screen uses Microsoft encryption with Secure Socket Layer. A password is required and can be obtained by telephone using the number listed below.


Electronic and Internet Reporting


Idaho Department of Labor
Skip Navigation Links
Home
Diskette Reporting Format
Internet Reporting