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PEO DOCUMENTATION REQUIREMENTS

Documentation needed when joining a PEO:
O PEO Letter of Intent

Note: If the client is going to be reported under the PEQ’s SUTA account, we will establish the client an account in
order to transfer their experience rate into the PEQO’s account.

O Idaho Business Registration (IBR-1)

Note: All clients are required to complete an Idaho Business Registration upon joining a PEQ, regardless of if the
PEO is reporting for the client under the PEO’s SUTA account or under the client’'s SUTA account. Failure to
complete an Idaho Business Registration by result in a $500 penalty.

Documentation needed when exiting a PEO:

O PEO Letter or Termination

Note: If the client was being reported under the PEO’s SUTA account we will establish the client a new account in
order to transfer their experience rate out of the PEQO’s Account. This applies even if the client no longer has
employees in Idaho, has ceased business company-wide, or has sold their business.

O Idaho Business Registration (IBR-1)

Note: All clients are required to complete an Idaho Business Registration upon exiting a PEQ. Failure to complete
an ldaho Business Registration may result in a $500 penalty.

All Idaho Business Registration must be completed online.

To the right is the link for the online Idaho Business Registration system: www?2.labor.idaho.gov/ibrs

All Letters of Intent and all Letters of Termination must be completed electronically.

There is an option to put electronic signatures (for both the PEO and the client) on both forms, however they may
be hand-signed if needed.

**This document is for your records. Please do not send this page back to the Idaho Department of Labor
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PEO REPORTING REQUIREMENTS

All PEO’s must submit an updated client list on a quarterly basis, regardless of if the PEOP is reporting for the client
under the PEO’s SUTA account or under the client's SUTA account. The deadline for submitting client list may
result in a penalty of $100 per client not properly reported (up to $5,000) in accordance with Idaho Code Section
72-1372(h).

72-1372. CIVIL PENALTIES. (1) The following civil penalties shall be assessed by the director:

(h) If a determination is made finding that a professional employer failed to submit a separate quarterly wage report
for each client as required in section 72-1349B(4), Idaho Code, the director shall assess a monetary penalty equal
to one hundred dollars ($100) for each client not separately reported by the professional employer; provided that
the maximum penalty for any quarter shall not exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000).

Example of the reporting template that should be used for formatting the PEO client lists:

PEO Name, PEO SUTA Account Number (i.e. 0001234567)

ABC Corporation Client’s FEIN
111-22-3333 Doe, Jane $$$(Quarterly Wages)
222-33-4444 Johnson, Mark $$$(Quarterly Wages)
333-44-5555 Smith, Amber $$$(Quarterly Wages)
DEF LLC Client’s FEIN
444-55-6666 Brown, Steven $$$(Quarterly Wages)
555-66-7777 Jones, Daniel $$$(Quarterly Wages)
666-77-8888 Williams, Katherine $$$(Quarterly Wages)

Please no longer send paper copies of client lists, client lists on CDs, or client lists of flash drives. The following are
the approved file attachment types:

e Comma Delimited (.csv)
e PDF (.pdf)

e Word (.doc or .docx)

o Excel (.xIs or .xlsx)

e Notepad (.txt)

Client lists will now only be accepted via the Employer Portal Secure Messaging System. That messaging
system is the method we are required to use for sending sensitive information such as account numbers, FEINs,
documents, etc. Please do not submit sensitive information to our personal email addresses (@labor.idaho.gov) or
to SUTA@labor.idaho.gov because we want to ensure the privacy of both you and the PEO and your clients.

Employer Portal Directions: www.labor.idaho.gov >Login>Login to Employer Portal
Once logged in, there is a green box for Secure Messaging or Message Center

**This document is for your records. Please do not send this page back to the Idaho Department of Labor
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PEO LETTER OF INTENT FORM

This form is for new Idaho clients joining a PEO, existing PEO clients beginning operations in Idaho, and existing
PEO clients with newly hired Idaho employees. If you need access to the client’s account in the Employer Portal,
you must complete the Employer Portal Authorization form.

All clients are required to complete an Idaho Business Registration upon joining a PEO, regardless of whether the
PEO is reporting for the client under the PEQO’s unemployment insurance tax account or under the client’s
unemployment insurance tax account. Failure to complete an Idaho Business Registration may result in a $500
penalty.

This form must be completed, signed, and returned to the Idaho Department of Labor within 180 days of the first
Idaho employee paycheck date with the PEO. If this form is received after the deadline, the PEO will be required to
report the client under the client’s unemployment insurance tax account. Refer to Idaho Code §72-1351(5).

PEO Client

Name: Name:

DBA: DBA:

Address: Address:

City, State, Zip: City, State, Zip:

FEIN: EAN: FEIN: EAN:

Please choose one of the following:

O 1. Report the client under the PEO’s account and transfer the client’s experience rate.

For this option, the PEO is required to have an unemployment insurance tax account. The client will need to
complete an Idaho Business Registration as well as a PEO Letter of Intent form. Once the client’s unemployment
insurance tax account is set up and the Department has the signed PEO Letter of Intent form, the client's account
will be closed and transferred into the PEO's account. From then on, the PEO will report for the client under the
PEO's account.

[0 2. Report the client under the client’s account.

For this option, the PEO is not required to have an active unemployment insurance tax account in Idaho. Instead,
the client will need to complete an Idaho Business Registration as well as a PEO Letter of Intent form. Once the
client’'s unemployment insurance tax account is set up and the Department has the signed PEO Letter of Intent
form, a note is recorded on the client's account stating that the PEO is reporting on behalf of the client. From then
on, the PEO will report for the client under the client's account.

This is to inform the Idaho Department of Labor that the PEO and the above-named client have signed an agreement
to enter a co-employer relationship effective

Idaho Employee Start Date with PEO:
First Idaho Employee Paycheck Date with PEO:
Number of Idaho Employees, Including Corporate Officers:
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PEQO’s FEIN:
Client’'s FEIN:

Does the client have employees excluded from the PEO arrangement? [1 Yes [1 No
¢ Any employees excluded from the PEO arrangement or hired by the client external to the PEO arrangement
are covered for unemployment insurance tax purposes and must be reported under the client’s account.

Client Information

[1Sole Proprietorship CIPartnership

[ICorporation

Type of Business:

1S Corporation

CILimited Liability Company

CINon-Profit

to be taxed for income tax
purposes?

If an LLC, how have you chosen

[1Sole Proprietorship | CIPartnership | CICorporation | IS Corporation

Physical Address (in Idaho):

Business Phone:

Fax:

Contact Name:

Contact Title:

Contact Phone:

Contact Email:

Owner/Officer Name

Title

% Owned Address of Residence

SSN and Phone

SSN:

Phone:

SSN:

Phone:

SSN:

Phone:

SSN:

Phone:

SSN:

Phone:

SSN:

Phone:

Have the Idaho corporate officers completed a Corporate Officer Exemption form? [1 Yes [1 No
Are the Idaho corporate officers planning to complete a Corporate Officer Exemption form? [ Yes [ No

You may return the form via Employer Portal secure messaging, fax to 208-334-6301, or mail to Idaho
Department of Labor, ATTN Tax Support, 317 W. Main St., Boise, Idaho 83735-0760.

PEO'’s Signature

Client’s Signature

Date

Date
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PEO LETTER OF TERMINATION FORM

This form is for Idaho clients leaving a PEO, clients who no longer have employees in Idaho, clients who ceased
operations company-wide, and clients who sold their business.

All clients are required to complete an Idaho Business Registration upon exiting a PEO. Failure to complete an
Idaho Business Registration may result in a $500 penalty.

This form must be completed, signed, and returned to the Idaho Department of Labor within 14 days of the client
leaving the PEO.

If you have access to the client’s account in the Employer Portal, your access will be removed.

PEO Client
Name: Name:
DBA: DBA:
Address: Address:
City, State, Zip: City, State, Zip:
FEIN: EAN: FEIN: EAN:
Client Information
OSole Proprietorship OPartnership OCorporation
Type of Business: OS Corporation OLimited Liability Company ONon-Profit
If an LLC, how have you chosen
to be taxed for income tax OSole Proprietorship | OPartnership | OCorporation | OOS Corporation
purposes?
Physical Address (in Idaho):
Business Phone: Fax:
Contact Name: Contact Title:
Contact Phone: Contact Email:

Please choose one of the following:

O The relationship between the PEO and the client listed above terminated effective

1.

O The client listed above no longer has employees in Idaho (and has no plans to hire employees in Idaho)

effective 1

If a client no longer has employees in Idaho, the client either (a) must be transferred out of the PEO’s
unemployment insurance tax account that is reporting for them, or (b) must have their own unemployment
insurance tax account closed (if the PEO was reporting for the client under the client’s account). This is
specifically for clients who have no plans of hiring employees in Idaho or who have had no Idaho payroll for

the last four quarters.

"The termination date must be the last payroll date with the PEO in Idaho.
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PEQO’s FEIN:
Client’s FEIN:

Do any of the following apply to the client?

[0 Ceased operations company-wide effective

[ Sold their business effective
Successor Business Name:
Successors FEIN:
Successor Contact Name:
Successors Contact Phone:

O Successor is joining the same PEO or is already in the PEO.
Start Date of Co-Employer Relationship Between PEO and Successor:
UJ None of the above.

Please provide the wages reported for the client for the most recent five completed quarters:

Year

Quarter

Total Wages

Taxable Wages

This is required for clients who were reported under the PEO’s unemployment insurance tax account. The portion
of the experience rate associated with the client will be transferred to the client's new unemployment insurance
account.

The Idaho Department of Labor must have the five most recent quarters of payroll run by the PEO. For example, if
the termination date was 12/31/2018, you must provide the five quarters prior to that.

You may return the form via Employer Portal secure messaging, fax to 208-334-6301, or mail to Idaho Department
of Labor, ATTN Tax Support, 317 W. Main St., Boise, Idaho 83735-0760.

PEO'’s Signature Client’s Signature

Date Date

CENTRAL OFFICE e 317 W. Main St.e Boise, Idaho 83735 @ Tel: (208) 332-3570 ® Web: labor.idaho.gov

An Equal Opportunity Employer and Service Provider. Reasonable accommodations are available upon request. Dial 711 for Idaho Relay Service.



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 09.01.35
Department of Labor Unemployment Insurance Tax Administration Rules

134. PROFESSIONAL EMPLOYER ORGANIZATIONS.

A professional employer organization shall fully comply with the requirements of the Professional Employer
Recognition Act, Chapter 24, Title 44, Idaho Code in order to be eligible for any transfers of experience rating as
allowed by Section 72-1349B, Idaho Code. (3-15-02)

01.  Methods of Reporting. To report the wages and employees covered by the professional employer
arrangement between a professional employer and client, professional employers and their clients shall make
reports to the Department in one (1) of the following ways, subject to the conditions in Subsections 134.02 through
134.06 of this rule: (3-15-02)

a. Report the workers included in the professional employer arrangement under the employer account
number of the professional employer and transfer the rate of the client to the professional employer; or (3-15-02)

b. Report the workers included in the professional employer arrangement under the employer account
number of the client without an experience rate transfer. Ref. Section 72-1349B, Idaho Code. (3-15-02)
02.  Joint Transfer of Experience Rate. In order to effect a transfer of a client’s experience rate into

the experience rate of a professional employer organization, both the client and the professional employer
organization shall jointly apply for the transfer of the experience rate within the same timeframes as required of
employers by Section 72-1351(5), Idaho Code, from the date of the contract entered into between the professional
employer organization and the client required by Section 44-2405, Idaho Code. Failure to submit a timely joint
request for transfer of experience rate shall result in the professional employer organization reporting wages for
the client under the employer account number of the client. Ref. Section 72-1351(5), Idaho Code. (3-22-07)

03.  Partial Transfers of Experience Rate Prohibited. In the event that a client and a professional
employer organization jointly apply to transfer the experience rate of the client into that of the professional
employer, the client’s entire experience rate and factors of experience rate shall be transferred into that of the
professional employer, and no partial transfers of experience factors or the experience rate shall be allowed. Ref.
Section 72- 1349B, Idaho Code. (3-15-02)

04.  Partial Reporting of Workers. If some of the client’s workers are included in the professional
employer arrangement and some are not included, and the professional employer organization and the client elect
to report the workers included in the professional employer arrangement under the employer account number of
the client, then only one (1) quarterly report shall be remitted to the Department, which shall list or include all the
client’s workers whether or not included in the professional employer arrangement. Ref. Section 72-1349B, Idaho
Code. (3-15-02)

05. Combined Wages or Services for Purposes of Coverage. If a client employer has employees or
employment, or both, that does not independently meet the coverage or threshold requirements necessary to
constitute covered employment, such employees, services or employment shall nonetheless be deemed to meet
the coverage requirements of the Employment Security Law if, in combination with other employees,
employment or services of such other employees of the professional employer organization or any of its clients,
such wages, services or employees do jointly meet coverage requirements. (3-15-02)



o Idaho Statutes

TITLE 44
LABOR
CHAPTER 24
IDAHO PROFESSIONAL EMPLOYER

44-2405. MINIMUM STANDARDS. (1) Each professional employer
shall, as a condition to being recognized by this chapter,
agree to the following standards:

(a) Have a written contract between the client and the

professional employer setting forth the responsibilities

and duties of each party. The contract shall disclose to
the client the services to be rendered, the respective
rights and obligations of the parties, and provide that the
professional employer:
(1) Reserves a right of direction and control over
workers assigned to the client’s location. However, the
client may retain such sufficient direction and control
over the assigned workers as 1is necessary to conduct
the client’s business and without which the client
would be unable to conduct its business, discharge any
fiduciary responsibility which it may have, or comply
with any applicable licensure, regulatory or statutory
requirement of the client;
(ii) Assume responsibility for the withholding and
remittance of ©payroll-related taxes and employee
benefits from its own accounts, as long as the contract
between the client and professional employer remains in
force;
(iii) Retain authority to hire, terminate, discipline,
and reassign assigned workers. However, the client, if
it accepts the responsibility for its action, may have
the right to accept or cancel the arrangement of any
assigned worker.

(b) Give written notice of the general nature of the

relationship between the professional employer and the

client to the workers assigned to the client and the public
at large. Such notice may Dbe posted in a visible and
conspicuous manner at the client’s work site.

(2) It is anticipated that under this chapter professional
employers will, from time to time, receive from <client
companies, moneys which represent assigned workers’ wages,
withholdings, taxes, and benefit plan payments. Each
professional employer shall keep in force, 1in the state of
Idaho, a separate bank account or accounts for the purpose of
keeping such money separate from the professional employer’s
operating funds. Assigned workers’ wages, withholdings, taxes,
and benefit plan payments shall be promptly paid from such
trust accounts.



(3) A professional employer shall Dbe considered an
employer for purposes of withholding state income tax pursuant
to section 63-3035, Idaho Code, to the same extent as the
professional employer is an employer for withholding federal
income taxes pursuant to the Internal Revenue Code. As long as
the professional employer’s contract with the client remains
in force, the professional employer shall have a right to and
shall perform the following responsibilities:

(a) Pay wages and collect, report and pay employment taxes
from its trust accounts;

(b) Pay unemployment taxes as required in Idaho state
unemployment laws, chapter 13, title 72, Idaho Code;

(c) Work with the «client in securing and providing
worker’s compensation coverage for all of its assigned
workers.

(4) A recognized professional employer shall be deemed the
employer for the purposes of sponsoring and maintaining
benefit and welfare plans for its assigned workers.

(5) Subject to any contrary provisions of the contract
between the client and the professional employer, the
professional employer arrangement that exists Dbetween a
professional employer and its clients shall be interpreted for
the purposes of sales tax on services, insurance and bonding
as follows:

(a) A professional employer shall not be liable for the
acts, errors or omissions of a client or of any assigned
worker acting under the direction and control of a client.
A client shall not be 1liable for the acts, errors or
omissions of a professional employer or of any assigned
worker of a ©professional employer acting under the
direction and control of the professional employer. Nothing
herein shall limit any contractual liability between the
professional employer and the <client, nor shall this
subsection in any way limit the liabilities of any
professional employer or client as defined elsewhere in
this chapter;

(b) Workers assigned or contracted to a client by a

professional employer are not deemed employees of the

professional employer for purposes of general liability
insurance, automobile insurance, fidelity bonds, surety
bonds, employer’s liability which is not covered by
worker’s compensation, or liquor liability insurance
carried by the professional employer unless the employees
are 1included by specific reference 1in the applicable
employment arrangement contract, insurance contract or

bond;
(c) If Idaho enacts a tax on services similar to the sales
tax, the administration fee will be the amount which is
taxed.
(6) The sale of professional employer arrangements in

conformance with the provisions of +this chapter shall not
constitute the sale of insurance within the meaning of
applicable Idaho law.



History:
[44-2405, added 1994, ch. 129, sec. 1, p. 288.]



e Idaho Statutes

TITLE 72
WORKER’ S COMPENSATION AND RELATED LAWS — INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION
CHAPTER 13
EMPLOYMENT SECURITY LAW

72-13498B. FINANCING OF BENEFITS PAYMENTS BY PROFESSIONAL
EMPLOYERS AND THEIR CLIENTS. (1) Nonprofit organizations and
governmental entities excepted. Financing of Dbenefits for
workers assigned by a professional employer to a nonprofit
organization or a governmental entity shall be paid as
provided in section 72-1349A, Idaho Code. Financing of
benefits for workers assigned by a professional employer to
any entity other than a nonprofit organization or governmental
entity shall be made in accordance with the provisions of this
section.

(2) Liability for contributions. Unless a professional
employer meets the minimum requirements of this chapter, its
client shall remain liable as a covered employer for any
payments due under the provisions of this chapter. During the
term of a professional employer arrangement, a professional
employer is liable for the payment of all moneys due pursuant
to this chapter as a result of wages paid to employees
assigned to a client company, except compensation paid to sole
proprietors or partners in the client company.

(3) Joint and several liability. A client is Jjointly and
severally liable for any unpaid moneys due under the
provisions of this chapter from the professional employer for
wages paid to workers assigned to the client.

(4) Reporting requirements. The professional employer
shall report and make all payments under its state employer
account number. The professional employer shall keep separate
records and submit separate quarterly wage reports for each of
its clients. The professional employer shall pay contributions
for its clients collectively using the professional employer’s
contribution rate unless it elects to pay the contribution for
certain clients individually in which instance the
contribution shall Dbe paid wusing the individual <client’s
contribution rate.

(5) Interested party. As between a professional employer
and its <client, the professional employer company shall be
deemed to be the interested party for purposes of section 72-
1323, Idaho Code, and all proceedings to determine rights to
benefits under the provisions of this chapter.

(6) Temporary workers. The provisions of this section do
not apply to an entity that provides temporary workers on a
temporary help basis, provided that the entity is liable as
the employer for all payments due under the provisions of this
chapter as a result of wages paid to those temporary workers.



(7) Rebuttable presumption. When a professional employer
assigns workers to only one (1) client and its affiliates,
there is a rebuttable presumption that the client entered into
a professional employer arrangement to avoid calculation of
the proper taxable wage rate. If the professional employer
fails to rebut this presumption, the director, pursuant to
section 72-1353, 1Idaho Code, shall issue an administrative
determination of coverage holding the client to be the covered
employer for purposes of this chapter.

(8) A client ceasing to pay wages. Whenever a client
ceases to pay wages, such client shall be subject to
termination of 1its employer account and experience rating
records in the same manner as any other employer, in
accordance with the provisions of sections 72-1351 and 72-
1352, Idaho Code. If a client which has ceased to pay wages
subsequently becomes subject to this chapter because it
resumes paying wages, it will be assigned the appropriate
experience rate 1in accordance with the provisions of section
72-1351, Idaho Code.

(9) Succession of experience factors. Whenever a
professional employer arrangement 1is entered, the separate
account and experience factors of payroll and reserve shall Dbe
transferred to the professional employer for the purpose of
determining the professional employer’s contribution rate to
be paid on behalf of the «client. Upon the expiration or
termination of the professional employer arrangement, so much
of the professional employer’s separate account and experience
factors of payroll and reserve as 1s attributable to the
client shall be transferred to the terminating client for the
purpose of determining the client’s subsequent rate of
contribution. In the event the professional employer elects to
pay the «client’s contribution separately as provided in
subsection (4) of this section, then the client’s experience
factors of payroll and reserve shall remain with the client
employer for the duration of the professional employer
arrangement.

History:

[(72-1349B), added 1977, <ch. 179, sec. 14, p. 486, am.
1978, ch. 112, sec. 7, p. 243; am. 1982, ch. 326, sec. 8, p.
817; am. and redesig. 1998, ch. 1, sec. 65, p. 49.]




e Idaho Statutes

TITLE 72
WORKER’ S COMPENSATION AND RELATED LAWS — INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION
CHAPTER 13
EMPLOYMENT SECURITY LAW
72-1351. EXPERIENCE RATING AND VOLUNTARY TRANSFERS OF
EXPERIENCE RATING ACCOUNTS. (1) Subject to the other
provisions of this chapter, each eligible and deficit
employer’s, except cost reimbursement employers, taxable wage
rate shall be determined in the manner set forth below for
each calendar year:

(a) (1) Each eligible employer shall be given an
"experience factor" which shall be the ratio of excess
of contributions over benefits paid on the employer’s
account since December 31, 1939, to his average annual
taxable payroll rounded to the next lower dollar amount
for the four (4) fiscal years immediately preceding the
computation date, except that when an employer first
becomes eligible, his "experience factor" will Dbe
computed on his average annual taxable payroll for the
two (2) fiscal years or more, but not to exceed four
(4) fiscal years, immediately preceding the computation
date. The computation of such "experience factor" shall
be to six (6) decimal places.

(ii) Each deficit employer shall be given a "deficit
experience factor" which shall be the ratio of excess
of Dbenefits paid on the employer’s account over
contributions since December 31, 1939, to his average
annual taxable payroll rounded to the next lower dollar
amount for one (1) or more fiscal years, but not to
exceed four (4) fiscal years, for which he had covered
employment ending on the computation date; provided,
however, that any employer who on any computation date
has a "deficit experience factor" for the period
immediately preceding such computation date but who has
filed all reports, paid all contributions and penalties
due on or before the cut-off date, and has during the
last four (4) fiscal years paid contributions at a rate
of not less than the standard rate applicable for each
such year and in excess of benefits charged to his
experience rating account during such years, shall have
any balance of benefits charged to his account which on
the computation date immediately preceding such four
(4) fiscal years was 1in excess of contributions paid,
deleted from his account, and the excess benefits so
deleted shall not be considered in the computation of
his taxable wage rate for the rate years following such
four (4) fiscal years. For the rate year following such



computation date, he shall be given the standard rate
for that year.

(iii) In the event an employer’s coverage has been
terminated because he has ceased to do business or
because he has not had covered employment for a period
of four (4) vyears, and 1f said employer thereafter
becomes a covered employer, he will be considered as
though he were a new employer, and he shall not be
credited with his previous experience under this
chapter for the purpose of computing any future
"experience factor."

(iv) Benefits paid to a claimant whose employment
terminated Dbecause the claimant’s employer was called
to active military duty shall not be used as a factor
in determining the taxable wage rate of that employer.

(b) Schedules shall Dbe prepared listing all eligible

employers in inverse numerical order of their experience

factors, and all deficit employers in numerical order of
their deficit experience factors. There shall be listed on
such schedules for each such employer in addition to the
experience factor: (i) the amount of his taxable payroll
for the fiscal year ending on the computation date, and

(ii) a cumulative total consisting of the sum of such

employer’s taxable payroll for the fiscal year ending on

the computation date and the corresponding taxable payrolls
for all other employers preceding him on such schedules.

(c) The cumulative taxable payroll amounts listed on the

schedules provided for in paragraph (b) of this subsection

shall be segregated into groups whose limits shall be those
set out in the table provided in section 72-1350(7), Idaho

Code. Each of such groups shall be identified by the rate

class number listed in the table which represents the

percentage limits of each group. Each employer on the
schedules shall be assigned a taxable wage rate 1in
accordance with section 72-1350, Idaho Code.

(d) (1) If the grouping of rate classes requires the
inclusion of exactly one-half (1/2) of an employer’s
taxable payroll, the employer shall be assigned the
lower of the two (2) rates designated for the two (2)
classes in which the halves of his taxable payroll are
so required.

(ii) If the group of rate <classes requires the
inclusion of a portion other than exactly one-half
(1/2) of an employer’s taxable payroll, the employer
shall be assigned the rate designated for the class in
which the greater part of his taxable payroll is so
required.

(iii) If one (1) or more employers on the schedules
have experience factors identical to that of the last
employer included in a particular rate class, all such
employers shall be included in and assigned the taxable
wage rate specified for such class, notwithstanding the
provisions of paragraph (c) of this subsection.



(e) If the taxable payroll amount or the experience factor
or both such taxable payroll amount and experience factor
of any eligible or deficit employer listed on the schedules
is changed, the employer shall be placed in that position
on the schedules which he would have occupied had his
taxable payroll amount and/or experience factor as changed
been used 1in determining his ©position in the first
instance, but such change shall not affect the position or
rate classification of any other employer listed on the
schedules and shall not affect the rate determination for
previous years.

(2) For experience rating purposes, all previously
accumulated benefit charges to covered employers’ accounts,
except cost reimbursement employers, shall not Dbe changed
except as provided in this chapter. Benefits paid prior to
June 30 shall, as of June 30 of each year preceding the
calendar year for which a covered employer’s taxable wage rate
is effective, Dbe charged to the account of the covered
employer, except cost reimbursement employers, who paid the
largest individual amount of base period wages as shown on the
determination wused as the basis for the payment of such
benefits, except that no charge shall be made to the account
of such covered employer with respect to benefits paid under
the following situations:

(a) If paid to a worker who terminated his services

voluntarily without good cause attributable to such covered

employer, or who had been discharged for misconduct in
connection with such services;

(b) If paid in accordance with the provisions of section

72-1368(10), Idaho Code, and the decision to pay benefits

is subsequently reversed;

(c) For that portion of benefits paid to multistate

claimants pursuant to section 72-1344, Idaho Code, which

exceeds the amount of benefits that would have been charged
had only Idaho wages been used in paying the claim;

(d) If paid in accordance with the extended benefit

program triggered by either national or state indicators;

(e) If paid to a worker who continues to perform services

for such covered employer without a reduction in his

customary work schedule, and who is eligible to receive
benefits due to layoff or a reduction 1in earnings from
another employer;

(f) If paid to a worker who turns down an offer of

suitable work because of participation in a Jjob training

program pursuant to the requirements of section 72-1366(8),

Idaho Code.

(3) A covered employer whose experience rating account is
chargeable, as prescribed by this section, 1is an interested
party as defined in section 72-1323, Idaho Code. A
determination of chargeability shall become final wunless,
within fourteen (14) days after notice as provided in section
72-1368(5), Idaho Code, an appeal is filed by an interested
party with the department in accordance with the department’s



rules. Appeal proceedings shall be in accordance with the
provisions of section 72-1361, Idaho Code.

(4) An experience rating record shall be maintained for
each covered employer. The record shall be credited with all
contributions which the covered employer has paid for covered
employment prior to the cut-off date, pursuant to the
provisions of this and preceding acts, and which covered
employment occurred prior to the computation date. The record
shall also be charged with the amount of benefits paid which
are chargeable to the covered employer’s account as provided
by the appropriate provisions of the employment security law
and regulations thereunder in effect at the time such benefits
were paid. Nothing in this section shall be construed to grant
any covered employer or individual in his service a priority
with respect to any claim or right because of amounts paid by
such covered employer into the employment security fund.

(5) (a) Whenever any individual or type of organization,

whether or not a covered employer within the meaning of

section 72-1315, Idaho Code, in any manner succeeds to, or
acquires all or substantially all, of the business of an
employer who at the time of acquisition was a covered
employer, and in respect to whom the director finds that
the business of the predecessor is continued solely by the
successor, the separate experience rating account of the
predecessor shall, upon the Jjoint application of the
predecessor and the successor within the one hundred eighty

(180) days after such acquisition and approval by the

director, be transferred to the successor employer for the

purpose of determining such successor’s liability and
taxable wage rate and any successor who was not an employer

on the date of acquisition shall as of such date become a

covered employer as defined in this chapter. Such one

hundred eighty (180) day period may be extended at the
discretion of the director.

(b) Whenever any individual or type of organization,

whether or not a covered employer within the meaning of

section 72-1315, Idaho Code, in any manner succeeds to, or
acquires, part of the business of an employer who at the
time of acquisition was a covered employer, and such
portion of the business is continued by the successor, so
much of the separate experience rating account of the
predecessor as 1s attributable to the portion of the
business transferred, as determined on a pro rata basis in
the same ratio that the wages of covered employees properly
allocable to the transferred portion of the business bears

to the payroll of the predecessor in the last four (4)

completed calendar quarters immediately preceding the date

of transfer, shall, upon the Jjoint application of the
predecessor and the successor within one hundred eighty

(180) days after such acquisition and approval Dby the

director, be transferred to the successor employer for the

purpose of determining such successor’s liability and
taxable wage rate, and any successor who was not an



employer on the date of acquisition shall, as of such date,
become a covered employer as defined in this chapter. Such
one hundred eighty (180) day period may be extended at the
discretion of the director.

(c) (1) If the successor was a covered employer prior to
the date of the acquisition of all or a part of the
predecessor’s business, his taxable wage rate,

effective the first day of the calendar quarter
immediately following the date of acquisition, shall be
a newly computed rate based on the combined experience
of the predecessor and successor, the resulting rate
remaining in effect the balance of the rate year.
(ii) If the successor was not a covered employer prior
to the date of the acquisition of all or a part of the
predecessor’s Dbusiness, his rate shall be the rate
applicable to the predecessor with respect to the
period immediately preceding the date of acquisition,
but if there were more than one (1) predecessor the
successor’s rate shall be a newly computed rate based
on the combined experience of the predecessors,
becoming effective 1immediately after the date of
acquisition, and shall remain in effect the balance of
the rate year.
(d) For purposes of this section, an employer’s experience
rating account shall consist of the actual contribution,
benefit and taxable payroll experience of the employer and
any amounts due from the employer under this chapter. When
a transferred experience rating account includes amounts
due from the employer under this chapter, both the
predecessor employer and the successor employer shall be
jointly and severally liable for those amounts.
History:
[72-1351, added 1947, ch. 269, sec. 51, p. 793; am. 1949,
ch. 144, sec. 51, p. 252; am. 1951, ch. 236, sec. 6, p. 482;
am. 1953, c¢h. 180, sec. 1, p. 272; am. 1955, ch. 18, sec. 6,
p. 20; am. 1957, ch. 158, sec. 2, p. 274; am. 1963, ch. 314,
sec. 7, p. 841l; am. 1965, ch. 203, sec. 1, p. 456; am. 1967,
ch. 117, sec. 8, p. 233; am. 1971, ch. 142, sec. 12, p. 595;
am. 1975, ch. 126, sec. 6, p. 259; am. 1980, ch. 264, sec. 5,
p. 686; am. 1986, ch. 24, sec. 2, p. 71; am. 1991, ch. 119,
sec. 7, p. 254; am. 1998, ch. 1, sec. 67, p. 55; am. 2004, ch.
24, sec. 4, p. 37; am. 2005, ch. 5, sec. 9, p. 17; am. 2008,
ch. 44, sec. 3, p. 110; am. 2010, ch. 183, sec. 2, p. 377; am.
2011, ch. 94, sec. 1, p. 202; am. 2016, ch. 158, sec. 3, p.
434.]



o Idaho Statutes

TITLE 72
WORKER’ S COMPENSATION AND RELATED LAWS — INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION
CHAPTER 13
EMPLOYMENT SECURITY LAW
72-1372. CIVIL PENALTIES. (1) The following civil
penalties shall be assessed by the director:
(a) If a determination is made finding that an employer

willfully filed a false report, a monetary penalty equal to
one hundred percent (100%) of the amount that would be due
if the employer had filed a correct report or two hundred
fifty dollars ($250), whichever is greater, shall be added
to the liability of the employer for each quarter for which
the employer willfully filed a false report. For the
purposes of this section, a false report includes, but is
not limited to, a report for a period wherein an employer
pays remuneration for personal services which meets the
definition of "wages" under section 72-1328, Idaho Code,
and the payment 1is concealed, hidden, or otherwise not
reported to the department.
(b) If a determination is made finding that an employer
willfully failed to file the employer’s quarterly
unemployment insurance tax report when due, the director
shall assess a monetary penalty equal to:
(1) Seventy-five dollars ($75.00) or twenty-five
percent (25%) of the amount that would be due if the
employer had filed a timely quarterly report, whichever
is greater, 1f the employer had not been found in any
previous determination to have willfully failed to file
a timely quarterly report for any of the sixteen (16)
preceding consecutive calendar quarters; or
(ii) One hundred fifty dollars ($150) or fifty percent
(50%) of the amount that would be due if the employer
had filed a timely quarterly report, whichever 1is
greater, if the employer had been found in any previous
determination to have willfully failed to file a timely
quarterly report for no more than one (1) of the
sixteen (16) preceding consecutive calendar quarters;
or
(iii) Two hundred fifty dollars ($250) or one hundred
percent (100%) of the amount that would be due if the
employer had filed a timely quarterly report, whichever
is greater, if the employer had Dbeen found in any
previous determination or determinations to have
willfully failed to file a timely quarterly report for

two (2) or more of the sixteen (l16) preceding
consecutive calendar quarters.
(c) If a determination is made finding that an employer,

or any officer or agent or employee of the employer with



the employer’s knowledge, willfully made a false statement
or representation or willfully failed to report a material
fact when submitting facts to the department concerning a
claimant’s separation from the employer, a penalty in an
amount equal to ten (10) times the weekly benefit amount of
such claimant shall be added to the 1liability of the
employer.
(d) If a determination is made finding that an employer
has induced, solicited, coerced or colluded with an
employee or former employee to file a false or fraudulent
claim for benefits under this chapter, a penalty in an
amount equal to ten (10) times the weekly benefit amount of
such employee or former employee shall be added to the
liability of the employer.

(e) If a determination is made finding that an employer

failed to complete and submit an Idaho business

registration form when due, as required by section 72-1337

(1), Idaho Code, a penalty of five hundred dollars ($500)

shall be assessed against the employer.

(f) For purposes of paragraphs (c) and (d) of this

subsection, the term "weekly benefit amount" means the

amount determined by the director pursuant to section 72-

1367 (2), Idaho Code.

(g) If a determination is made finding that a person has

made any unauthorized disclosure of employment security

information in violation of the provisions of chapter 1,

title 74, Idaho Code, or section 72-1342, Idaho Code, or

rules promulgated thereunder, a penalty of five hundred
dollars ($500) for each act of unauthorized disclosure
shall be assessed against the person.

(h) If a determination is made finding that a professional

employer failed to submit a separate quarterly wage report

for each client as required in section 72-1349B(4), Idaho

Code, the director shall assess a monetary penalty equal to

one hundred dollars ($100) for each client not separately

reported by the professional employer; provided that the
maximum penalty for any quarter shall not exceed five
thousand dollars ($5,000).

(2) At the discretion of the director, the department may
waive all or any part of the penalties imposed pursuant to
subsection (1) of this section 1if the employer shows to the
satisfaction of the director that it had good cause for
failing to comply with the requirements of this chapter and
rules promulgated thereunder.

(3) Determinations imposing civil penalties pursuant to
this section shall be served in accordance with section 72-
1368 (5), Idaho Code. Penalties imposed pursuant to this
section shall be due and payable twenty (20) days after the
date the determination was served unless an appeal is filed in
accordance with section 72-1368, Idaho Code, and rules
promulgated thereunder. Such appeals shall be conducted in
accordance with section 72-1368, Idaho Code, and rules
promulgated thereunder.



(4) Civil penalties imposed by this section shall be in
addition to any other penalties authorized by this chapter.
The provisions of this chapter that apply to the collection of
contributions, and the &rules promulgated thereunder, shall
also apply to the collection of penalties imposed pursuant to
this section. Amounts collected pursuant to this section shall
be paid into the state employment security administrative and
reimbursement fund as established by section 72-1348, 1Idaho
Code.

History:

[72-1372, added 2005, ch. 5, sec. 16, p. 31; am. 2007, ch.
64, sec. 1, p. 157; am. 2008, ch. 44, sec. 5, p. 116; am.
2008, ch. 99, sec. 3, p. 276; am. 2011, ch. 117, sec. 1, p.
326; am. 2015, ch. 141, sec. 196, p. 530; am. 2016, ch. 280,
sec. 3, p. 777.]
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