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PEO DOCUMENTATION REQUIREMENTS

Documentation needed when joining a PEO:
O PEO Letter of Intent

Note: If the client is going to be reported under the PEQ’s SUTA account, we will establish the client an account in
order to transfer their experience rate into the PEQO’s account.

O Idaho Business Registration (IBR-1)

Note: All clients are required to complete an Idaho Business Registration upon joining a PEQ, regardless of if the
PEO is reporting for the client under the PEO’s SUTA account or under the client’'s SUTA account. Failure to
complete an Idaho Business Registration by result in a $500 penalty.

Documentation needed when exiting a PEO:

O PEO Letter or Termination

Note: If the client was being reported under the PEO’s SUTA account we will establish the client a new account in
order to transfer their experience rate out of the PEQO’s Account. This applies even if the client no longer has
employees in Idaho, has ceased business company-wide, or has sold their business.

O Idaho Business Registration (IBR-1)

Note: All clients are required to complete an Idaho Business Registration upon exiting a PEQ. Failure to complete
an ldaho Business Registration may result in a $500 penalty.

All Idaho Business Registration must be completed online.

To the right is the link for the online Idaho Business Registration system: www.labor.idaho.gov/ibrs

All Letters of Intent and all Letters of Termination must be completed electronically.

There is an option to put electronic signatures (for both the PEO and the client) on both forms, however they may
be hand-signed if needed.

**This document is for your records. Please do not send this page back to the Idaho Department of Labor
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PEO REPORTING REQUIREMENTS

All PEO’s must submit an updated client list on a quarterly basis, regardless of if the PEO is reporting for the client
under the PEO’s SUTA account or under the client's SUTA account. The deadline for submitting client list may

result in a penalty of $100 per client not properly reported (up to $5,000) in accordance with Idaho Code Section

72-1372(h).

72-1372. CIVIL PENALTIES. (1) The following civil penalties shall be assessed by the director:

(h) If a determination is made finding that a professional employer failed to submit a separate quarterly wage report
for each client as required in section 72-1349B(4), Idaho Code, the director shall assess a monetary penalty equal
to one hundred dollars ($100) for each client not separately reported by the professional employer; provided that
the maximum penalty for any quarter shall not exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000).

Example of the reporting template that should be used for formatting the PEO client lists:

PEO Name, PEO SUTA Account Number (i.e. 0001234567)

ABC Corporation Client’s FEIN
111-22-3333 Doe, Jane $$$(Quarterly Wages)
222-33-4444 Johnson, Mark $$$(Quarterly Wages)
333-44-5555 Smith, Amber $$$(Quarterly Wages)
DEF LLC Client’s FEIN
444-55-6666 Brown, Steven $$$(Quarterly Wages)
555-66-7777 Jones, Daniel $$$(Quarterly Wages)
666-77-8888 Williams, Katherine $$$(Quarterly Wages)

Please no longer send paper copies of client lists, client lists on CDs, or client lists of flash drives. The following are
the approved file attachment types:

e Comma Delimited (.csv)
e PDF (.pdf)

e Word (.doc or .docx)

o Excel (.xIs or .xlsx)

e Notepad (.txt)

Client lists will now only be accepted via the Employer Portal Secure Messaging System. That messaging
system is the method we are required to use for sending sensitive information such as account numbers, FEINs,
documents, etc. Please do not submit sensitive information to our personal email addresses (@labor.idaho.gov) or
to SUTA@labor.idaho.gov because we want to ensure the privacy of both you and the PEO and your clients.

Employer Portal Directions: www.labor.idaho.gov >Login>Login to Employer Portal
Once logged in, there is a green box for Secure Messaging or Message Center

**This document is for your records. Please do not send this page back to the Idaho Department of Labor
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PEO LETTER OF INTENT FORM

This form is for new Idaho clients joining a PEO, existing PEO clients beginning operations in Idaho, and existing
PEO clients with newly hired Idaho employees. If you need access to the client’s account in the Employer Portal,
you must complete the Employer Portal Authorization form.

All clients are required to complete an Idaho Business Registration upon joining a PEO, regardless of whether the
PEO is reporting for the client under the PEQO’s unemployment insurance tax account or under the client’s
unemployment insurance tax account. Failure to complete an Idaho Business Registration may result in a $500
penalty.

This form must be completed, signed, and returned to the Idaho Department of Labor within 180 days of the first
Idaho employee paycheck date with the PEO. If this form is received after the deadline, the PEO will be required to
report the client under the client’s unemployment insurance tax account. Refer to Idaho Code §72-1351(5).

PEO Client

Name: Name:

DBA: DBA:

Address: Address:

City, State, Zip: City, State, Zip:

FEIN: EAN: FEIN: EAN:

Please choose one of the following:

O 1. Report the client under the PEO’s account and transfer the client’s experience rate.

For this option, the PEO is required to have an unemployment insurance tax account. The client will need to
complete an Idaho Business Registration as well as a PEO Letter of Intent form. Once the client’s unemployment
insurance tax account is set up and the Department has the signed PEO Letter of Intent form, the client's account
will be closed and transferred into the PEO's account. From then on, the PEO will report for the client under the
PEO's account.

[0 2. Report the client under the client’s account.

For this option, the PEO is not required to have an active unemployment insurance tax account in Idaho. Instead,
the client will need to complete an Idaho Business Registration as well as a PEO Letter of Intent form. Once the
client’'s unemployment insurance tax account is set up and the Department has the signed PEO Letter of Intent
form, a note is recorded on the client's account stating that the PEO is reporting on behalf of the client. From then
on, the PEO will report for the client under the client's account.

This is to inform the Idaho Department of Labor that the PEO and the above-named client have signed an agreement
to enter a co-employer relationship effective

Idaho Employee Start Date with PEO:
First Idaho Employee Paycheck Date with PEO:
Number of Idaho Employees, Including Corporate Officers:
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PEQO’s FEIN:
Client’'s FEIN:

Does the client have employees excluded from the PEO arrangement? [1 Yes [1 No
¢ Any employees excluded from the PEO arrangement or hired by the client external to the PEO arrangement
are covered for unemployment insurance tax purposes and must be reported under the client’s account.

Client Information

[1Sole Proprietorship CIPartnership

[ICorporation

Type of Business:

1S Corporation

CILimited Liability Company

CINon-Profit

to be taxed for income tax
purposes?

If an LLC, how have you chosen

[1Sole Proprietorship | CIPartnership | CICorporation | IS Corporation

Physical Address (in Idaho):

Business Phone:

Fax:

Contact Name:

Contact Title:

Contact Phone:

Contact Email:

Owner/Officer Name

Title

% Owned Address of Residence

SSN and Phone

SSN:

Phone:

SSN:

Phone:

SSN:

Phone:

SSN:

Phone:

SSN:

Phone:

SSN:

Phone:

Have the Idaho corporate officers completed a Corporate Officer Exemption form? [1 Yes [1 No
Are the Idaho corporate officers planning to complete a Corporate Officer Exemption form? [ Yes [ No

You may return the form via Employer Portal secure messaging, fax to 208-334-6301, or mail to Idaho
Department of Labor, ATTN Tax Support, 317 W. Main St., Boise, Idaho 83735-0760.

PEO'’s Signature

Client’s Signature

Date

Date
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PEO LETTER OF TERMINATION FORM

This form is for Idaho clients leaving a PEO, clients who no longer have employees in Idaho, clients who ceased
operations company-wide, and clients who sold their business.

All clients are required to complete an Idaho Business Registration upon exiting a PEO. Failure to complete an
Idaho Business Registration may result in a $500 penalty.

This form must be completed, signed, and returned to the Idaho Department of Labor within 14 days of the client
leaving the PEO.

If you have access to the client’s account in the Employer Portal, your access will be removed.

PEO Client
Name: Name:
DBA: DBA:
Address: Address:
City, State, Zip: City, State, Zip:
FEIN: EAN: FEIN: EAN:
Client Information
OSole Proprietorship OPartnership OCorporation
Type of Business: OS Corporation OLimited Liability Company ONon-Profit
If an LLC, how have you chosen
to be taxed for income tax OSole Proprietorship | OPartnership | OCorporation | OOS Corporation
purposes?
Physical Address (in Idaho):
Business Phone: Fax:
Contact Name: Contact Title:
Contact Phone: Contact Email:

Please choose one of the following:

O The relationship between the PEO and the client listed above terminated effective

1.

O The client listed above no longer has employees in Idaho (and has no plans to hire employees in Idaho)

effective 1

If a client no longer has employees in Idaho, the client either (a) must be transferred out of the PEO’s
unemployment insurance tax account that is reporting for them, or (b) must have their own unemployment
insurance tax account closed (if the PEO was reporting for the client under the client’s account). This is
specifically for clients who have no plans of hiring employees in Idaho or who have had no Idaho payroll for

the last four quarters.

"The termination date must be the last payroll date with the PEO in Idaho.
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PEQO’s FEIN:
Client’s FEIN:

Do any of the following apply to the client?

[0 Ceased operations company-wide effective

[ Sold their business effective
Successor Business Name:
Successors FEIN:
Successor Contact Name:
Successors Contact Phone:

O Successor is joining the same PEO or is already in the PEO.
Start Date of Co-Employer Relationship Between PEO and Successor:
UJ None of the above.

Please provide the wages reported for the client for the most recent five completed quarters:

Year

Quarter

Total Wages

Taxable Wages

This is required for clients who were reported under the PEO’s unemployment insurance tax account. The portion
of the experience rate associated with the client will be transferred to the client's new unemployment insurance
account.

The Idaho Department of Labor must have the five most recent quarters of payroll run by the PEO. For example, if
the termination date was 12/31/2018, you must provide the five quarters prior to that.

You may return the form via Employer Portal secure messaging, fax to 208-334-6301, or mail to Idaho Department
of Labor, ATTN Tax Support, 317 W. Main St., Boise, Idaho 83735-0760.

PEO'’s Signature Client’s Signature

Date Date
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TITLE 44
LABOR
CHAPTER 24
IDAHO PROFESSIONAL EMPLOYER

44-2405. MINIMUM STANDARDS. (1) Each professional employer shall, as
a condition to being recognized by this chapter, agree to the following
standards:

(a) Have a written contract between the client and the professional

employer setting forth the responsibilities and duties of each party.

The contract shall disclose to the client the services to be rendered,

the respective rights and obligations of the parties, and provide that

the professional employer:
(1) Reserves a right of direction and control over workers
assigned to the client’s location. However, the client may retain
such sufficient direction and control over the assigned workers
as 1s necessary to conduct the client’s business and without
which the c¢lient would Dbe unable to conduct i1its Dbusiness,
discharge any fiduciary responsibility which it may have, or
comply with any applicable licensure, regulatory or statutory
requirement of the client;
(ii) Assume responsibility for the withholding and remittance of
payroll-related taxes and employee benefits from its own
accounts, as long as the contract Dbetween the client and
professional employer remains in force;
(1i1) Retain authority to hire, terminate, discipline, and
reassign assigned workers. However, the client, if it accepts the
responsibility for its action, may have the right to accept or
cancel the arrangement of any assigned worker.

(b) Give written notice of the general nature of the relationship

between the professional employer and the c¢lient to the workers

assigned to the client and the public at large. Such notice may be
posted in a visible and conspicuous manner at the client’s work site.

(2) It is anticipated that under this chapter professional employers
will, from time to time, receive from client companies, moneys which
represent assigned workers’ wages, withholdings, taxes, and benefit plan
payments. Each professional employer shall keep in force, in the state of
Idaho, a separate bank account or accounts for the purpose of keeping such
money separate from the professional employer’s operating funds. Assigned
workers’ wages, withholdings, taxes, and benefit plan payments shall be
promptly paid from such trust accounts.

(3) A professional employer shall Dbe considered an employer for
purposes of withholding state income tax pursuant to section 63-3035,
Idaho Code, to the same extent as the professional employer is an employer
for withholding federal 1income taxes pursuant to the Internal Revenue
Code. As 1long as the professional employer’s contract with the client



remains 1in force, the professional employer shall have a right to and
shall perform the following responsibilities:

(a) Pay wages and collect, report and pay employment taxes from its
trust accounts;

(b) Pay unemployment taxes as required in Idaho state unemployment
laws, chapter 13, title 72, Idaho Code;

(c) Work with the c¢lient in securing and providing worker’s
compensation coverage for all of its assigned workers.

(4) A recognized professional employer shall be deemed the employer

for the purposes of sponsoring and maintaining benefit and welfare plans
for its assigned workers.

(5) Subject to any contrary provisions of the contract between the
client and the professional employer, the professional employer
arrangement that exists between a professional employer and its clients
shall be interpreted for the purposes of sales tax on services, insurance
and bonding as follows:

(a) A professional employer shall not be liable for the acts, errors
or omissions of a client or of any assigned worker acting under the
direction and control of a client. A client shall not be liable for
the acts, errors or omissions of a professional employer or of any
assigned worker of a professional employer acting under the direction
and control of the professional employer. Nothing herein shall limit
any contractual liability between the professional employer and the
client, nor shall this subsection in any way limit the liabilities of
any professional employer or client as defined elsewhere in this
chapter;
(b) Workers assigned or contracted to a client by a professional
employer are not deemed employees of the professional employer for
purposes o0of general liability insurance, automobile 1insurance,
fidelity bonds, surety bonds, employer’s liability which is not
covered by worker’s compensation, or liquor liability insurance
carried by the professional employer unless the employees are included
by specific reference in the applicable employment arrangement
contract, insurance contract or bond;

(c) If Idaho enacts a tax on services similar to the sales tax, the
administration fee will be the amount which is taxed.
(6) The sale of professional employer arrangements 1in conformance

with the provisions of this chapter shall not constitute the sale of
insurance within the meaning of applicable Idaho law.
History:

[44-2405, added 1994, ch. 129, sec. 1, p. 288.]

How current is this law?



e Idaho Statutes

TITLE 72
WORKER’ S COMPENSATION AND RELATED LAWS — INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION
CHAPTER 13
EMPLOYMENT SECURITY LAW

72-13498B. FINANCING OF BENEFITS PAYMENTS BY PROFESSIONAL
EMPLOYERS AND THEIR CLIENTS. (1) Nonprofit organizations and
governmental entities excepted. Financing of Dbenefits for
workers assigned by a professional employer to a nonprofit
organization or a governmental entity shall be paid as
provided in section 72-1349A, Idaho Code. Financing of
benefits for workers assigned by a professional employer to
any entity other than a nonprofit organization or governmental
entity shall be made in accordance with the provisions of this
section.

(2) Liability for contributions. Unless a professional
employer meets the minimum requirements of this chapter, its
client shall remain liable as a covered employer for any
payments due under the provisions of this chapter. During the
term of a professional employer arrangement, a professional
employer is liable for the payment of all moneys due pursuant
to this chapter as a result of wages paid to employees
assigned to a client company, except compensation paid to sole
proprietors or partners in the client company.

(3) Joint and several liability. A client is Jjointly and
severally liable for any unpaid moneys due under the
provisions of this chapter from the professional employer for
wages paid to workers assigned to the client.

(4) Reporting requirements. The professional employer
shall report and make all payments under its state employer
account number. The professional employer shall keep separate
records and submit separate quarterly wage reports for each of
its clients. The professional employer shall pay contributions
for its clients collectively using the professional employer’s
contribution rate unless it elects to pay the contribution for
certain clients individually in which instance the
contribution shall Dbe paid wusing the individual <client’s
contribution rate.

(5) Interested party. As between a professional employer
and its <client, the professional employer company shall be
deemed to be the interested party for purposes of section 72-
1323, Idaho Code, and all proceedings to determine rights to
benefits under the provisions of this chapter.

(6) Temporary workers. The provisions of this section do
not apply to an entity that provides temporary workers on a
temporary help basis, provided that the entity is liable as
the employer for all payments due under the provisions of this
chapter as a result of wages paid to those temporary workers.



(7) Rebuttable presumption. When a professional employer
assigns workers to only one (1) client and its affiliates,
there is a rebuttable presumption that the client entered into
a professional employer arrangement to avoid calculation of
the proper taxable wage rate. If the professional employer
fails to rebut this presumption, the director, pursuant to
section 72-1353, 1Idaho Code, shall issue an administrative
determination of coverage holding the client to be the covered
employer for purposes of this chapter.

(8) A client ceasing to pay wages. Whenever a client
ceases to pay wages, such client shall be subject to
termination of 1its employer account and experience rating
records in the same manner as any other employer, in
accordance with the provisions of sections 72-1351 and 72-
1352, Idaho Code. If a client which has ceased to pay wages
subsequently becomes subject to this chapter because it
resumes paying wages, it will be assigned the appropriate
experience rate 1in accordance with the provisions of section
72-1351, Idaho Code.

(9) Succession of experience factors. Whenever a
professional employer arrangement 1is entered, the separate
account and experience factors of payroll and reserve shall Dbe
transferred to the professional employer for the purpose of
determining the professional employer’s contribution rate to
be paid on behalf of the «client. Upon the expiration or
termination of the professional employer arrangement, so much
of the professional employer’s separate account and experience
factors of payroll and reserve as 1s attributable to the
client shall be transferred to the terminating client for the
purpose of determining the client’s subsequent rate of
contribution. In the event the professional employer elects to
pay the «client’s contribution separately as provided in
subsection (4) of this section, then the client’s experience
factors of payroll and reserve shall remain with the client
employer for the duration of the professional employer
arrangement.

History:

[(72-1349B), added 1977, <ch. 179, sec. 14, p. 486, am.
1978, ch. 112, sec. 7, p. 243; am. 1982, ch. 326, sec. 8, p.
817; am. and redesig. 1998, ch. 1, sec. 65, p. 49.]
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TITLE 72
WORKER’S COMPENSATION AND RELATED LAWS — INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION
CHAPTER 13
EMPLOYMENT SECURITY LAW
72-1351. EXPERIENCE RATING AND VOLUNTARY TRANSFERS OF EXPERIENCE

RATING ACCOUNTS. (1) Subject to the other provisions of this chapter, each
eligible and deficit employer’s, except cost reimbursement employers,
taxable wage rate shall be determined in the manner set forth in this
subsection for each calendar year:
(a) (1) Each eligible employer shall be given an "experience
factor" which shall be the ratio of excess of contributions over
benefits paid on the employer’s account since December 31, 1939,
to his average annual taxable payroll rounded to the next lower
dollar amount for the four (4) fiscal years immediately preceding
the computation date, except that when an employer first becomes
eligible, his "experience factor" will be computed on his average
annual taxable payroll for the two (2) fiscal years or more, but
not to exceed four (4) fiscal years, immediately preceding the
computation date. The computation of such "experience factor"
shall be to six (6) decimal places.
(ii) Each deficit employer shall be given a "deficit experience
factor" which shall be the ratio of excess of benefits paid on
the employer’s account over contributions since December 31,
1939, to his average annual taxable payroll rounded to the next
lower dollar amount for one (1) or more fiscal years, but not to
exceed four (4) fiscal years, for which he had covered employment
ending on the computation date; provided, however, that any
employer who, on any computation date has a "deficit experience
factor" for the period immediately preceding such computation
date but who has filed all reports, paid all contributions and
penalties due on or before the cutoff date, and has during the
last four (4) fiscal years paid contributions at a rate of not
less than the standard rate applicable for each such year and in
excess o0f Dbenefits charged to his experience rating account
during such years, shall have any balance of benefits charged to
his account, which on the computation date immediately preceding
such four (4) fiscal years was in excess of contributions paid,
deleted from his account, and the excess Dbenefits so deleted
shall not be considered in the computation of his taxable wage
rate for the rate years following such four (4) fiscal years. For
the rate year following such computation date, he shall be given
the standard rate for that year.
(1iii) In the event an employer’s coverage has been terminated
because he has ceased to do business or because he has not had
covered employment for a period of four (4) years, and if said
employer thereafter Dbecomes a covered employer, he will be



considered as though he were a new employer, and he shall not be
credited with his previous experience under this chapter for the
purpose of computing any future "experience factor."
(iv) Benefits paid to a claimant whose employment terminated
because the claimant’s employer was called to active military
duty shall not be used as a factor in determining the taxable
wage rate of that employer.
(b) Schedules shall be prepared listing all eligible employers in
inverse numerical order of their experience factors, and all deficit
employers in numerical order of their deficit experience factors.
There shall be 1listed on such schedules for each such employer in
addition to the experience factor: (1) the amount of his taxable
payroll for the fiscal year ending on the computation date, and (ii) a
cumulative total consisting of the sum of such employer’s taxable
payroll for the fiscal year ending on the computation date and the
corresponding taxable payrolls for all other employers preceding him
on such schedules.
(c) The cumulative taxable payroll amounts listed on the schedules
provided for in paragraph (b) of this subsection shall be segregated
into groups whose limits shall be those set out in the table provided
in section 72-1350(7), Idaho Code. Each of such groups shall be
identified by the rate <class number listed in the table which
represents the percentage limits of each group. Each employer on the
schedules shall be assigned a taxable wage rate in accordance with
section 72-1350, Idaho Code.

(d) (1) If the grouping of rate classes requires the inclusion
of exactly one-half (1/2) of an employer’s taxable payroll, the
employer shall Dbe assigned the 1lower of the two (2) rates

designated for the two (2) classes in which the halves of his
taxable payroll are so required.
(ii) If the group of rate classes requires the inclusion of a
portion other than exactly one-half (1/2) of an employer’s
taxable payroll, the employer shall be assigned the rate
designated for the class in which the greater part of his taxable
payroll is so required.
(ii1) If one (1) or more employers on the schedules have
experience factors identical to that of the last employer
included in a particular rate class, all such employers shall be
included in and assigned the taxable wage rate specified for such
class, notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph (c) of this
subsection.
(e) If the taxable payroll amount or the experience factor or both
such taxable payroll amount and experience factor of any eligible or
deficit employer listed on the schedules is changed, the employer
shall be placed in that position on the schedules which he would have
occupied had his taxable payroll amount and/or experience factor as
changed been used in determining his position in the first instance,
but such change shall not affect the position or rate classification
of any other employer listed on the schedules and shall not affect the
rate determination for previous years.
(2) For experience rating purposes, all previously accumulated
benefit charges to covered employers’ accounts, except cost reimbursement
employers, shall not be changed except as provided in this chapter.



Benefits paid prior to June 30 shall, as of June 30 of each year preceding
the calendar year for which a covered employer’s taxable wage rate 1is
effective, be charged to the account of the covered employer, except cost
reimbursement employers, who paid the largest individual amount of Dbase
period wages as shown on the determination used as the basis for the
payment of such benefits, except that no charge shall be made to the
account of such covered employer with respect to benefits paid under the
following situations:
(a) If paid to a worker who terminated his services voluntarily
without good cause attributable to such covered employer, with good
cause but for reasons not attributable to such covered employer, or
who had been discharged for workplace misconduct in connection with
such services;

(b) If paid in accordance with the provisions of section 72-1368(10),
Idaho Code, and the decision to pay benefits is subsequently reversed;
(c) For that portion of Dbenefits paid to multistate claimants

pursuant to section 72-1344, Idaho Code, which exceeds the amount of
benefits that would have been charged had only Idaho wages been used
in paying the claim;

(d) If paid in accordance with the extended benefit program triggered
by either national or state indicators;
(e) If paid to a worker who continues to perform services for such

covered employer without a reduction in his customary work schedule,

and who 1is eligible to receive benefits due to layoff or a reduction

in earnings from another employer; or

(f) If paid to a worker who turns down an offer of suitable work

because of participation in a Jjob training program pursuant to the

requirements of section 72-1366(8), Idaho Code.

(3) A covered employer whose experience rating account is chargeable,
as prescribed by this section, 1is an interested party as defined in
section 72-1323, Idaho Code. A determination of chargeability shall become
final wunless, within fourteen (14) days after notice as provided 1in
section 72-1368(5), Idaho Code, an appeal is filed by an interested party
with the department in accordance with the department’s rules. Appeal
proceedings shall be in accordance with the provisions of section 72-1361,
Idaho Code.

(4) (a) An experience rating record shall be maintained for each
covered employer. The record shall be credited with all contributions
which the covered employer has paid for covered employment prior to
the cutoff date, pursuant to the provisions of this and preceding
acts, and which covered employment occurred prior to the computation
date. The record shall also be charged with the amount of benefits
paid which are chargeable to the covered employer’s account as
provided by the appropriate provisions of the employment security law
and regulations thereunder in effect at the time such benefits were
paid. Nothing in this section shall be construed to grant any covered
employer or individual in his service a priority with respect to any
claim or right because of amounts paid by such covered employer into
the employment security fund.

(b) Except those meeting the requirements of section 72-1349B, Idaho

Code, each person or entity paying wages directly, or indirectly

through arrangements in which payroll is consolidated for multiple

persons or entities, shall maintain separate records and shall report



the wages 1in accordance with this chapter. The wages for one (1)
person or entity may not be reported under the assigned record of
another, even where the people or entities are related.
(5) (a) Whenever any individual or type of organization, whether or
not a covered employer within the meaning of section 72-1315, Idaho
Code, 1in any manner succeeds to, or acquires all or substantially all,
of the business of an employer who at the time of acquisition was a
covered employer, and in respect to whom the director finds that the
business of the predecessor is continued solely by the successor, the
separate experience rating account of the predecessor shall, upon the
joint application of the predecessor and the successor within the one
hundred eighty (180) days after such acquisition and approval by the
director, be transferred to the successor employer for the purpose of
determining such successor’s liability and taxable wage rate, and any
successor who was not an employer on the date of acquisition shall, as
of such date, Dbecome a covered employer as defined in this chapter.
Such one hundred eighty (180) day period may be extended at the
discretion of the director.
(b) Whenever any individual or type of organization, whether or not a
covered employer within the meaning of section 72-1315, Idaho Code, in
any manner succeeds to, or acquires, part of the business of an
employer who at the time of acquisition was a covered employer, and
such portion of the business is continued by the successor, so much of
the separate experience rating account of the predecessor as 1is
attributable to the portion of the business transferred, as determined
on a pro rata basis in the same ratio that the wages of covered
employees properly allocable to the transferred portion of the
business bears to the payroll of the predecessor in the last four (4)
completed <calendar quarters immediately preceding the date of
transfer, shall, upon the joint application of the predecessor and the
successor within one hundred eighty (180) days after such acquisition
and approval by the director, be transferred to the successor employer
for the purpose of determining such successor’s liability and taxable
wage rate, and any successor who was not an employer on the date of
acquisition shall, as of such date, become a covered employer as
defined in this chapter. Such one hundred eighty (180) day period may
be extended at the discretion of the director.
(c) (1) If the successor was a covered employer prior to the
date of the acquisition of all or a part of the predecessor’s
business, his taxable wage rate, effective the first day of the
calendar quarter immediately following the date of acquisition,
shall be a newly computed rate based on the combined experience
of the predecessor and successor, the resulting rate remaining in
effect the balance of the rate year.
(i1) If the successor was not a covered employer prior to the
date of the acquisition of all or a part of the predecessor’s
business, his rate shall ©be the rate applicable to the
predecessor with respect to the period immediately preceding the
date of acquisition, but if there was more than one (1)
predecessor, the successor’s rate shall be a newly computed rate
based on the combined experience of the predecessors, becoming
effective immediately after the date of acquisition, and shall
remain in effect the balance of the rate year.



(d) For purposes of this section, an employer’s experience rating
account shall consist of the actual contribution, benefit and taxable
payroll experience of the employer and any amounts due from the
employer under this chapter. When a transferred experience rating
account includes amounts due from the employer under this chapter,
both the predecessor employer and the successor employer shall be
jointly and severally liable for those amounts.
History:
[72-1351, added 1947, ch. 269, sec. 51, p. 793; am. 1949, ch. 144,
sec. 51, p. 252; am. 1951, ch. 236, sec. 6, p. 482; am. 1953, ch. 180,
sec. 1, p. 272; am. 1955, ch. 18, sec. 6, p. 20; am. 1957, ch. 158, sec.
2, p. 274; am. 1963, ch. 314, sec. 7, p. 841; am. 1965, ch. 203, sec. 1,
p. 456; am. 1967, ch. 117, sec. 8, p. 233; am. 1971, ch. 142, sec. 12, p.
595; am. 1975, ch. 126, sec. 6, p. 259; am. 1980, ch. 264, sec. 5, p. 686;
am. 1986, ch. 24, sec. 2, p. 71; am. 1991, ch. 119, sec. 7, p. 254; am.
1998, ch. 1, sec. 67, p. 55; am. 2004, ch. 24, sec. 4, p. 37; am. 2005,
ch. 5, sec. 9, p. 17; am. 2008, ch. 44, sec. 3, p. 110; am. 2010, ch. 183,
sec. 2, p. 377; am. 2011, ch. 94, sec. 1, p. 202; am. 2016, ch. 158, sec.
3, p. 434; am. 2020, ch. 143, sec. 2, p. 438; am. 2025, ch. 29, sec. 23,
p. 128.1]
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TITLE 72
WORKER’S COMPENSATION AND RELATED LAWS — INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION
CHAPTER 13
EMPLOYMENT SECURITY LAW
72-1349B. FINANCING OF BENEFITS PAYMENTS BY PROFESSIONAL EMPLOYERS
AND THEIR CLIENTS. (1) Financing of benefits for workers assigned by a

professional employer to a nonprofit organization or a governmental entity
shall be paid as provided in section 72-1349A, Idaho Code. Financing of
benefits for workers assigned by a professional employer to any entity
other than a nonprofit organization or governmental entity shall be made
in accordance with the provisions of this section.

(2) A professional employer organization shall fully comply with the
requirements of chapter 24, title 44, Idaho Code, in order to be eligible
for any transfers of experience rating as allowed by this section.

(3) In order to effect a transfer of a client’s experience rating
into the experience rating of a professional employer organization, both
the client and the professional employer organization shall Jjointly apply
for the transfer of the experience rating within the same time frames as
required of employers by section 72-1351(5), Idaho Code, from the date of
the contract entered into between the professional employer organization
and the client required by section 44-2405, Idaho Code. Failure to submit
a timely joint request for transfer of experience rating shall result in
the professional employer organization reporting wages for the client
under the employer account number of the client.

(4) In the event that a client and a professional employer
organization jointly apply to transfer the experience rating of the client
into that of the professional employer organization, the client’s entire
experience rating and factors of experience rating shall be transferred
into that of the professional employer organization, and no partial
transfers of experience factors or the experience rating shall be allowed.

(5) If some of the client’s workers are included in the professional
employer organization arrangement and some are not included, and the
professional employer organization and the client elect to report the
workers included in the professional employer organization arrangement
under the employer account number of the c¢lient, then only one (1)
quarterly report shall be remitted to the department, which shall 1list or
include all the «client’s workers whether or not included in the
professional employer organization arrangement.

(6) If a client employer has employees, services, or employment, one
(1) or more of which do not independently meet the coverage or threshold
requirements necessary to constitute covered employment, such employees,
services, or employment shall nonetheless be deemed to meet the coverage
requirements of this chapter 1if, in combination with other employees,
services, or employment of such other employees of the professional
employer organization or any of its clients, such wages, services, or
employees jointly meet coverage requirements.




(7) Unless a professional employer meets the minimum requirements of
this chapter, its client shall remain liable as a covered employer for any
payments due under the provisions of this chapter. During the term of a
professional employer arrangement, a professional employer is liable for
the payment of all moneys due pursuant to this chapter as a result of
wages paid to employees assigned to a client company, except compensation
paid to sole proprietors or partners in the client company.

(8) A client 1is Jjointly and severally liable for any unpaid moneys
due under the provisions of this chapter from the professional employer
for wages paid to workers assigned to the client.

(9) The professional employer shall report and make all payments
under 1its state employer account number. The professional employer shall
keep separate records and submit separate quarterly wage reports for each
of its clients. The professional employer shall pay contributions for its
clients collectively using the professional employer’s contribution rate
unless it elects to pay the contribution for certain clients individually
in which instance the contribution shall be paid using the individual
client’s contribution rate.

(10) To report the wages and employees covered by the professional
employer organization arrangement between a professional employer
organization and client, professional employer organizations and their
clients shall make reports to the department in one (1) of the following
ways, subject to any conditions in rules promulgated by the department:

(a) Report the workers included in the professional employer

organization arrangement under the employer account number of the

professional employer organization and transfer the rating of the
client to the professional employer organization; or

(b) Report the workers included in the professional employer

organization arrangement under the employer account number of the

client without an experience rating transfer.

(11) As between a professional employer and its client, the
professional employer company shall be deemed to be the interested party
for purposes of section [72-1323, 1Idaho Code, and all proceedings to
determine rights to benefits under the provisions of this chapter.

(12) The provisions of this section do not apply to an entity that
provides temporary workers on a temporary help basis, provided that the
entity is liable as the employer for all payments due under the provisions
of this chapter as a result of wages paid to those temporary workers.

(13) When a professional employer assigns workers to only one (1)
client and its affiliates, there 1s a rebuttable presumption that the
client entered into a ©professional employer arrangement to avoid
calculation of the proper taxable wage rate. If the professional employer
fails to rebut this presumption, the director, pursuant to section 72—
1353, Idaho Code, shall issue an administrative determination of coverage
holding the <client to be the covered employer for purposes of this
chapter.

(14) Whenever a client ceases to pay wages, such client shall be
subject to termination of its employer account and experience rating
records in the same manner as any other employer, in accordance with the
provisions of sections 72-1351 and 72-1352, Idaho Code. If a client that
has ceased to pay wages subsequently becomes subject to this chapter
because 1t resumes paying wages, it will Dbe assigned the appropriate



experience rate 1in accordance with the provisions of section 72-1351,
Idaho Code.

(15) Whenever a professional employer arrangement 1is entered, the
separate account and experience factors of payroll and reserve shall be
transferred to the professional employer for the purpose of determining
the professional employer’s contribution rate to be paid on behalf of the
client. Upon the expiration or termination of the professional employer
arrangement, so much of the professional employer’s separate account and
experience factors of payroll and reserve as 1is attributable to the client
shall be transferred to the terminating client for the purpose of
determining the client’s subsequent rate of contribution. In the event the
professional employer elects to pay the client’s contribution separately
as provided in subsection (9) of this section, then the c¢lient’s
experience factors of payroll and reserve shall remain with the client
employer for the duration of the professional employer arrangement.
History:

[(72-1349B), added 1977, ch. 179, sec. 14, p. 486; am. 1978, ch. 112,
sec. 7, p. 243; am. 1982, ch. 326, sec. 8, p. 817; am. and redesig. 1998,
ch. 1, sec. 65, p. 49; am. 2025, ch. 29, sec. 21, p. 123.]
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TITLE 72
WORKER’S COMPENSATION AND RELATED LAWS — INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION
CHAPTER 13
EMPLOYMENT SECURITY LAW
72-1372. CIVIL PENALTIES. (1) The following civil penalties shall be
assessed by the director:
(a) If a determination is made finding that an employer willfully
filed a false report, a monetary penalty equal to one hundred percent
(100%) of the amount that would be due if the employer had filed a
correct report or two hundred fifty dollars ($250), whichever 1is
greater, shall be added to the 1liability of the employer for each
quarter for which the employer willfully filed a false report. For the
purposes of this section, a false report includes, but is not limited
to, a report for a period wherein an employer pays remuneration for
personal services which meets the definition of "wages" under section
72-1328, Idaho Code, and the payment 1s concealed, hidden, or
otherwise not reported to the department.
(b) If a determination is made finding that an employer willfully
failed to file the employer’s quarterly unemployment insurance tax
report when due, the director shall assess a monetary penalty equal
to:
(1) Seventy-five dollars ($75.00) or twenty-five percent (25%)
of the amount that would be due if the employer had filed a
timely quarterly report, whichever is greater, if the employer
had not been found in any previous determination to have
willfully failed to file a timely quarterly report for any of the
sixteen (16) preceding consecutive calendar quarters; or
(1ii) One hundred fifty dollars ($150) or fifty percent (50%) of
the amount that would be due if the employer had filed a timely
quarterly report, whichever is greater, if the employer had been
found in any previous determination to have willfully failed to
file a timely quarterly report for no more than one (1) of the
sixteen (16) preceding consecutive calendar quarters; or
(iii) Two hundred fifty dollars ($250) or one hundred percent
(100%) of the amount that would be due if the employer had filed
a timely quarterly report, whichever is greater, if the employer
had been found in any previous determination or determinations to
have willfully failed to file a timely quarterly report for two
(2) or more of the sixteen (16) preceding consecutive calendar
quarters.
(c) If a determination is made finding that an employer, or any
officer or agent or employee of the employer with the employer’s
knowledge, willfully made a false statement or representation or
willfully failed to report a material fact when submitting facts to
the department concerning a claimant’s separation from the employer, a



penalty in an amount equal to ten (10) times the weekly benefit amount

of such claimant shall be added to the liability of the employer.

(d) If a determination is made finding that an employer has induced,

solicited, coerced or colluded with an employee or former employee to

file a false or fraudulent claim for benefits under this chapter, a

penalty in an amount equal to ten (10) times the weekly benefit amount

of such employee or former employee shall be added to the liability of
the employer.

(e) If a determination is made finding that an employer failed to

complete and submit an Idaho business registration form when due, as

required by section 72-1337(1), Idaho Code, a penalty of five hundred
dollars ($500) shall be assessed against the employer.

(f) For purposes of paragraphs (c) and (d) of this subsection, the

term "weekly benefit amount" means the amount determined by the

director pursuant to section 72-1367(2), Idaho Code.

(9) If a determination is made finding that a person has made any

unauthorized disclosure of employment security information in

violation of the provisions of chapter 1, title 74, Idaho Code, or

section 72-1342, Idaho Code, or rules promulgated thereunder, a

penalty of five hundred dollars ($500) for each act of unauthorized

disclosure shall be assessed against the person.

(h) If a determination is made finding that a professional employer

failed to submit a separate quarterly wage report for each client as

required in section 72-1349B(9), Idaho Code, the director shall assess

a monetary penalty equal to one hundred dollars ($100) for each client

not separately reported by the professional employer; provided that

the maximum penalty for any gquarter shall not exceed five thousand
dollars ($5,000).

(2) At the discretion of the director, the department may waive all
or any part of the penalties imposed pursuant to subsection (1) of this
section if the employer shows to the satisfaction of the director that it
had good cause for failing to comply with the requirements of this chapter
and rules promulgated thereunder.

(3) Determinations imposing civil penalties pursuant to this section
shall Dbe served 1in accordance with section 72-1368¢(5), Idaho Code.
Penalties imposed pursuant to this section shall be due and payable twenty
(20) days after the date the determination was served unless an appeal is
filed in accordance with section 72-1368, Idaho Code, and rules
promulgated thereunder. Such appeals shall be conducted in accordance with
section 72-1368, Idaho Code, and rules promulgated thereunder.

(4) Civil penalties imposed by this section shall be in addition to
any other penalties authorized by this chapter. The provisions of this
chapter that apply to the collection of contributions, and the rules
promulgated thereunder, shall also apply to the collection of penalties
imposed pursuant to this section. Amounts collected pursuant to this
section shall be paid into the state employment security administrative
and reimbursement fund as established by section 72-1348, Idaho Code.
History:

[72-1372, added 2005, ch. 5, sec. 16, p. 31; am. 2007, ch. 64, sec. 1,
p. 157; am. 2008, ch. 44, sec. 5, p. 116; am. 2008, ch. 99, sec. 3, p.
276; am. 2011, ch. 117, sec. 1, p. 326; am. 2015, ch. 141, sec. 196, p.
530; am. 2016, ch. 280, sec. 3, p. 777; am. 2025, ch. 29, sec. 34, p.
161.]




	PEO Reporting Requirement.pdf
	PEO Reporting Requirements

	PEO Documentation Requirement.pdf
	PEO Documentation Requirements

	PEO Letter of Intent - Fillable PDF.pdf
	PEO Letter of Intent Form

	PEO Letter of Termination - Fillable PDF.pdf
	PEO Letter of Termination Form

	PEO-Packet legal.pdf

	PEO Letter of Intent111: Off
	Idaho Business Registration IBR111: Off
	PEO Letter or Termination11: Off
	Idaho Business Registration IBR1_211: Off
	Name22: 
	DBA22: 
	Address22: 
	City State Zip22: 
	EAN22: 
	Name_222: 
	DBA_222: 
	Address_222: 
	City State Zip_222: 
	EAN_222: 
	1 Report the client under the PEOs account and transfer the clients experience rate22: Off
	2 Report the client under the clients account22: Off
	to enter a coemployer relationship effective22: 
	Idaho Employee Start Date with PEO22: 
	First Idaho Employee Paycheck Date with PEO22: 
	Number of Idaho Employees Including Corporate Officers22: 
	FEIN: 
	FEIN_2: 
	Does the client have employees excluded from the PEO arrangement22: Off
	Sole Proprietorship22: Off
	undefined22: Off
	undefined_222: Off
	undefined_322: Off
	Limited Liability Company22: Off
	undefined_422: Off
	Sole Proprietorship_222: Off
	Partnership_222: Off
	Corporation_222: Off
	S Corporation_222: Off
	Physical Address in Idaho22: 
	Business Phone22: 
	Fax22: 
	Contact Name22: 
	Contact Title22: 
	Contact Phone22: 
	Contact Email22: 
	OwnerOfficer NameRow122: 
	TitleRow122: 
	OwnedRow122: 
	Address of ResidenceRow122: 
	SSN22: 
	Phone22: 
	OwnerOfficer NameRow222: 
	TitleRow222: 
	OwnedRow222: 
	Address of ResidenceRow222: 
	SSN_222: 
	Phone_222: 
	OwnerOfficer NameRow322: 
	TitleRow322: 
	OwnedRow322: 
	Address of ResidenceRow322: 
	SSN_322: 
	Phone_322: 
	OwnerOfficer NameRow422: 
	TitleRow422: 
	OwnedRow422: 
	Address of ResidenceRow422: 
	SSN_422: 
	Phone_422: 
	OwnerOfficer NameRow522: 
	TitleRow522: 
	OwnedRow522: 
	Address of ResidenceRow522: 
	SSN_522: 
	Phone_522: 
	OwnerOfficer NameRow622: 
	TitleRow622: 
	OwnedRow622: 
	Address of ResidenceRow622: 
	SSN_622: 
	Phone_622: 
	Have the Idaho corporate officers completed a Corporate Officer Exemption form22: Off
	Are the Idaho corporate officers planning to complete a Corporate Officer Exemption form22: Off
	Date: 
	Date_2: 
	Name33: 
	DBA33: 
	Address33: 
	City State Zip33: 
	EAN33: 
	Name_233: 
	DBA_233: 
	Address_233: 
	City State Zip_233: 
	EAN_233: 
	Sole Proprietorship33: Off
	undefined33: Off
	undefined_233: Off
	undefined_333: Off
	Limited Liability Company33: Off
	undefined_433: Off
	Sole Proprietorship_233: Off
	Partnership_233: Off
	Corporation_233: Off
	S Corporation_233: Off
	Physical Address in Idaho33: 
	Business Phone33: 
	Fax33: 
	Contact Name33: 
	Contact Title33: 
	Contact Phone33: 
	Contact Email33: 
	The relationship between the PEO and the client listed above terminated effective33: Off
	133: 
	The client listed above no longer has employees in Idaho and has no plans to hire employees in Idaho33: Off
	effective33: 
	Ceased operations companywide effective33: Off
	undefined_533: 
	Sold their business effective33: Off
	undefined_633: 
	Successor Business Name33: 
	Successors FEIN33: 
	Successor Contact Name33: 
	Successors Contact Phone33: 
	Successor is joining the same PEO or is already in the PEO33: Off
	Start Date of CoEmployer Relationship Between PEO and Successor33: 
	None of the above33: Off
	Year33: 
	Quarter33: 
	Total Wages33: 
	Taxable Wages33: 
	Year 233: 
	QTR233: 
	Total233: 
	Taxable233: 
	Year333: 
	QTR333: 
	Total333: 
	Taxable333: 
	Year433: 
	QTR433: 
	Total433: 
	Taxable433: 
	Year533: 
	QTR533: 
	Total533: 
	Taxable533: 
	Date33: 
	Date_233: 


