You may apply at labor.idaho.gov/claimantportal. We do not accept claims over the telephone. If you do not have Internet access or need help filing online, you may file at your nearest local Idaho Department of Labor office. If you are filing a claim against Idaho, but live in another state, you may also file your claim online at labor.idaho.gov/claimantportal.
Claimants are required to verify their identity through the ID.me application during the online claim filing process.
Click here for a list of the Idaho Department of Labor locations in Idaho.
Apply for benefits at labor.idaho.gov/claimantportal during the week you are seeking payment, when your hours have been reduced or you are no longer employed. Do NOT wait until the week is over. For example, if you typically work 40 hours Monday through Friday and you find out that you are only going to be scheduled to work 15 hours, apply for benefits during the work week. We recommend applying before Friday at 5 p.m. so that we are available to assist you if you have difficulty with the online application. If you apply before Saturday at midnight (when the week ends), you can file your weekly certification on Sunday. If you do not apply during that week, that week will not count as your waiting week or a payable week.
Before any benefits can be paid, you must serve a waiting week. To serve the waiting week, you must have filed a claim and be entitled to benefits in all respects. You must also submit a continued claim report to report for your waiting week. You will not be paid benefits for the waiting week. You will only have to serve one waiting week per benefit year.
Read more about a waiting week here.
If you are receiving pay for a specific period of time and being paid on your regularly scheduled pay periods, you must divide your severance pay by the number of weeks covered and report that amount each week you submit your weekly certification.
Claimants are not required to report WARN Act payments on their weekly certification.
Persons living in another state who want to claim unemployment insurance benefits against the State of Idaho may file at labor.idaho.gov/claimantportal.
Yes, if you reside in Idaho now but some of your wages during the base period were earned in one other state, you may file an interstate claim. The District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands are considered "states" for unemployment insurance claims filing purposes.
If you have earned wages in Idaho and at least one other state during the base period, including the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, or the Virgin Islands, you may request the wages be combined by transferring them to the state in which you file your claim. This is called a combined-wage claim. Canada does not participate in the combined-wage agreement.
If you move to another state, update your address online at labor.idaho.gov/claimantportal. You must register for work within two weeks in the state you reside. Registration information for each state can be found at CareerOneStop.
Return to unemployment insurance FAQ Back to top
An Equal Opportunity Employer and Service Provider
Brad Little, Governor
Jani Revier, Director